Faculty Awards

NYU Distinguished Teaching Award:

The NYU Distinguished Teaching Award reaffirms the University’s commitment to teaching excellence and commitment to students. The award recognizes outstanding faculty who have contributed significantly to the intellectual life of the university.

LS Faculty Winners:

  • Nancy Reale (2009-2010)
  • Joyce Apsel (2008-2009)
  • John Bell (2006-2007)
  • James Colaiaco (2003-2004)
  • Robert Jeske (1998-1999)
  • Robert Gurland (1989-1990)

LS Chamber of Deputies Excellence in Teaching Award:

Established by the LS Dean and sponsored by the LS Chamber of Deputies student council, this award honors teaching excellence and commitment to students and is given annually to a faculty member voted for by the LS student body.

LS Faculty Winners:

  • J. Ward Regan (2011)
  • Jose Vazquez (2010)
  • Shaghayegh Harbi (2009)
  • Kathleen Bishop (2008)
  • Elayne Tobin (2007)
  • Albert Piacente (2006)

NYU Humanities Initiative Faculty Research Fellowship

The Humanities Initiative's highly selective faculty research fellowships recognize innovative scholarly work by full-time NYU faculty in the humanities and art disciplines. Fellows meet on a weekly basis to discuss their work-in-progress and that of invited guests, and participate in Initiative activities, including the planning of an annual humanities festival.

LS Faculty Winner:

  • Eugene Ostashevsky (2010-2011)

The Martin Luther King, Jr. Faculty  Award

Recognizes commitment to the research and teaching excellence of Arts & Science and the University.

  • J. Ward Regan (2009)

National Awards

National Endowment for the Humanities

The following Liberal Studies faculty have been selected for the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) seminars:

  • Christopher Packard
  • Heidi White
  • Mahnaz Yousefzadeh

The following Liberal Studies Faculty-Administrators won an NEH Digital Humanities Start-up Grant:

  • Lucile Appert, Co-Director- " Simonides: A Student-Centered Humanities Learning Tool."
  • Karen Karbiener, Participant- "Looking for Whitman: The Poetry of Place in the Life and Work of Walt Whitman."
  • Robert Squillace, Co-Director- " Simonides: A Student-Centered Humanities Learning Tool."

The following Liberal Studies Faculty won an NEH Grant:

  • Rochelle Almeida, 2004
  • Joyce Apsel, 1999 and 2004

Fulbright Awards

  • Jacqueline Bishop
  • Karen Karbiener
  • David Larsen
  • Cheryl Sterling
  • Joseph Thometz

The Robert Lehman Foundation's Edwin L. Weisl Jr. Lectureship in Art History Grant Award

  • Lucile Appert, 2008
  • Davida Chang, 2008
  • Roberta Newman, 2009, 2010
  • Nancy Reale, 2009, 2010
  • Joseph Portanova, 2010
  • Cheryl Sterling, 2008

The Library of Congress John W. Kluge Center's Kluge Fellowship

  • Karen Karbiener
 Anna Seghers Literary Prize
  • Lina Meruane (2011)
Updated on 09/28/2012